The Federalist Society

The Templeton Debate and Lecture Series on Freedom 2010-2011

Student Division

The John Templeton Foundation has generously partnered with The Federalist Society to support debates and lectures sponsored by the Society’s student chapters at law schools across America. These programs touch on many of the most important questions in contemporary legal discourse.

The Federalist Society is pleased to provide audio and visual recordings of the following representative Templeton-supported programs sponsored by student chapters in the past school year.


--Former Director of Worldwide Anti-Piracy Operations John G. Malcolm and Prof. Lee Ann Lockridge of LSU Law on digital piracy at LSU

--Randy May of the Free State Foundation and Prof. William Funk of Lewis & Clark Law on market-oriented communications reform at Lewis & Clark

--Ted Frank of the Manhattan Institute and Prof. William Corbett of LSU Law on hot coffee, obesity, and prank phone calls at LSU

--Prof. Shubha Ghosh of Wisconsin Law on what kind of property is intellectual property at Wisconsin


--Prof. David Snyder of American Law v. Prof. Robert Rhee Maryland Law on securitization at Maryland

--Doug Bandow of the Cato Institute v. Prof. Mark Rothstein of Louisville Law on Obamacare at Louisville

--Dean Paul Mahoney of UVA Law, Prof. Paul Stephan of UVA Law, Prof. Todd Zywicki of George Mason Law and Judge Diane Sykes of the 7th Circuit on "Economic Uncertainty and the Role of the Courts" at UVA

--Prof. John Nagle of Notre Dame Law v. Prof. Ed Richards of LSU Law on environmental law at LSU

--Ilya Shapiro of the Cato Institute v. Prof. Wilson Huhn of Akron Law on Obamacare and the national debt at Akron

--Prof. John Kunich of Charlotte Law v. Prof. Ed Richards at LSU Law on free-market environmentalism at LSU

--Ilya Shapiro of the Cato Institute v. Prof. Scott Moss of Colorado Law on Obamacare at BYU

--Prof. Richard Epstein of NYU Law and Chicago Law on health care reform at Michigan

--Iyla Shapiro of the Cato Institute, Eric Fruits of Economics International, and Dr. Elizabeth Steiner of OHSU on health care reform and the market at Lewis & Clark

--Doug Bandow of the Cato Institute v. Prof. James Bowers of LSU Law and Prof. Ed Richards of LSU Law on the economic crisis at LSU

--Dr. Merrill Matthews of the Institute for Policy Innovation v. Prof. Ed Richards of LSU Law on the free market and health care reform at LSU

--Prof. Richard Epstein of NYU Law v. Prof. Jesse Choper of UC Berkeley Law on Obamacare at UC Berkeley

--Peter Cambs of Parker Waichman Alonso LLP, Christine Fazio of Carter Ledyard & Milburn, and Michael Joy of Lipman, Biltekoff & Joy on natural gas drilling at Fordham


--Prof. Rick Garnett of Notre Dame Law and Prof. Kurt Lash of Illinois Law on the Establishment Clause at Illinois

--Hon. Kenneth Starr of Baylor University on religious liberty at Houston

--Prof. Robin Wilson of Washington & Lee Law v. Prof. Jana Singer of Maryland Law on same sex marriage at Maryland

--Prof. Arnold Loewy of Texas Tech Law v. Prof. Russell Weaver of Louisville Law on Intelligent Design at Louisville

--Prof. John Baker of the Fund for American Studies v. Prof. John Baier of LSU Law on Justice Scalia and Originalism at LSU

--Prof. David DeWolf of Gonzaga Law v. Prof. John Devlin of LSU Law on Intelligent Design at LSU

--Ken Klukowski of the Family Research Council v. Prof. Don Herzog of Michigan Law on legal standing in relgion clause cases at Michigan

--Aaron Streett of Baker Botts on religious liberty and the Roberts Court at LSU


--Ilya Shapiro of the Cato Institute v. Prof. Fred Smith of UC Berkeley on judicial activism and moral character at UC Berkeley

--Judge Edith Jones on the Supreme Court and the Nature of Man at Houston

--Prof. David Forte of Cleveland-Marshall Law v. Prof. Bruce Miller of Western New England Law on trusting judges at Western New England



With generous support from

The John Templeton Foundation

[The Templeton Debate and Lecture Series on Freedom 2009-2010]

The Federalist Society