10th Annual Faculty Conference

Faculty Division

Thursday, January 3
6:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tansa Room

Panel: Executive Discretion & the Rule of Law - Audio/Video

  • Prof. Harvey Mansfield, Harvard University
  • Prof. Neomi Rao, George Mason University School of Law 
  • Prof. Ilya Somin, George Mason University School of Law
  • Moderator: Prof. John McGinnis, Northwestern University School of Law


Friday January 4
9:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.
Tansa Room
Panel: Post Kelo Reform - Audio/Video

  • Prof. David Dana, Northwestern University School of Law 
  • Prof. Steve Eagle, George Mason University School of Law
  • Prof. James Ely, Vanderbilt University Law School
  • Mr. Daniel B. Kelly, Olin Fellow, Yale Law School
  • Moderator: Prof. Ilya Somin, George Mason University School of Law

12:00 noon - 2:00 p.m.
Mirus Room
Debate: Is the DC Gun Ban Unconstitutional? - Audio/Video

  • Prof. Nelson Lund, George Mason University School of Law
  • Hon. David Yassky, New York City Council Member
  • Moderator: Prof. Randy Barnett, Georgetown University Law Center

2:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tansa Room
Panel: American Law Schools: Envy of the World or General Motors Before the Fall? - Audio/Video
Co-Sponsored by the National Association of Scholars

  • Prof. Paul Campos, University of Colorado School of Law
  • Dean John Garvey, Boston College & President-Elect, Association of American Law Schools
  • Prof. Maimon Schwarzschild, University of San Diego School of Law
  • Prof. George Shepherd, Emory University College of Law
  • Dean Rodney Smolla, Washington & Lee School of Law
  • Moderator: Judge Frank Easterbrook, United States Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit

4:45 p.m. - 5:45 p.m.
Tansa Room
Address: "The Duke Lacrosse Case & the Academy," followed by a Question & Answer Session/General Discussion - Audio/video

  • Prof. KC Johnson, Brooklyn College

[Return to the Multimedia menu]