Edwin Meese Reviews The Dirty Dozen by Robert A. Levy and William Mellor

By Edwin Meese III
November 07, 2008
The authors of The Dirty Dozen are leaders of the freedom-based public-interest law movement, Robert Levy as Senior Fellow in Constitutional Studies at the Cato Institute and William Mellor as President and General Counsel of the Institute for Justice. Th is movement has developed over the past forty years to protect ordinary  Americans—law-abiding citizens, property holders, taxpayers, small-business owners, and the like—from the oppression of government overregulation and the attacks of special-interest lawyers funded by the federal government at taxpayers’ expense. Th is gives the two legal scholars a special credibility in the their evaluation of Supreme Court jurisprudence...